#### **Estimated Tax Worksheet Instructions**

**Purpose of declaration.** The filing of a declaration of estimated Maryland income tax is a part of the pay-as-you-go plan of income tax collection adopted by the State. If you have any income such as pensions, business income, lottery, capital gains, interest, dividends, etc., from which no tax is withheld, or wages from which not enough Maryland tax is withheld, you may have to pay estimated taxes. The law is similar to the federal law.

**Who must file a declaration.** You must file a declaration of estimated tax if you are required to file a Maryland income tax return and your gross income would be expected to develop a tax of more than \$500 in excess of your Maryland withholding.

You must file a declaration with payment in full within 60 days of receiving \$500 or more of income from awards, prizes, lotteries or raffles, whether paid in cash or property if Maryland tax has not been withheld. A married couple may file a joint declaration. If you are filing a joint declaration, both Social Security numbers must be entered. If filing on behalf of a minor, the name and Social Security number of the minor must be entered.

When to file a declaration. You must pay at least one-fourth of the total estimated tax on line 15 of this form on or before April 15, 2024. The remaining quarterly payments are due June 15, 2024, September 15, 2024 and January 15, 2025. You may pay the total estimated tax with your first payment. If you are filing on a fiscal year basis, each payment is due by the 15th day of the 4th, 6th, 9th and 13th months following the beginning of the fiscal year.

**Overpayment of tax.** If you overpaid your 2023 income tax (Form 502 or 505), you may apply all or part of the overpayment to your 2024 estimated tax. If the overpayment applied equals or exceeds the estimated tax liability for the first quarterly payment, you are not required to file the declaration. If the overpayment applied is less than the estimated tax liability, you should file the declaration and pay the balance of the first installment.

**How to estimate your 2024 tax.** The worksheet is designed to develop an estimate of your 2024 Maryland and local income tax. Be as accurate as you can in forecasting your 2024 income. You may use your 2023 income tax as a guide, but if you will receive more income than you did in 2023, you must pay at least 110% of your prior year tax to avoid interest for underpayment of estimated tax. For the purpose of estimating, rounding all amounts to the nearest dollar is recommended.

Nonresidents who want to estimate 2024 Maryland taxes may use the Nonresident Estimate Tax Calculator at marylandtaxes.gov.

#### **Specific Instructions**

**Line 1.** Total income expected in 2024 is your estimated federal adjusted gross income.

**Line 2.** Net modifications. You must add certain items to your federal adjusted gross income. See Instruction 12 of the tax instructions. You may subtract certain items from federal adjusted gross income. See Instruction 13 of the tax instructions. Enter on this line the net result of additions and subtractions.

**Line 4.** Deductions. You may compute your tax using the standard deduction method or the itemized deduction method.

Standard deduction. Compute 15% of line 3.

**If Filing Status 1, 3, 6:** If the amount computed is less than \$1,700, enter \$1,700; if the amount is between \$1,700 and \$2,550, enter that amount; if the amount is more than \$2,550, enter \$2,550.

**If Filing Status 2, 4, 5:** If the amount computed is less than \$3,450, enter \$3,450; if the amount is between \$3,450 and \$5,150, enter that amount; if the amount is more than \$5,150, enter \$5,150.

**Itemized deductions.** Enter the total of federal itemized deductions less state and local income taxes.

**Line 6.** Personal exemptions. If your FAGI will be \$100,000 or less, you are allowed:

- a. \$3,200 each for taxpayer and spouse.
- \$1,000 each for taxpayer and spouse if age 65 or over and/or blind.
- s3,200 for each allowable dependent, other than taxpayer and spouse. The amount is doubled for allowable dependents age 65 or over.

If your FAGI will be more than \$100,000, see chart below to determine the amount of exemption you can claim for items a and c above.

If Your federal AGI is		If you will file your tax return		
		Single or Married Filing Separately Each Exemption is	Joint, Head of Household or Qualifying Surviving Spouse Each Exemption is	
\$100,000 or less		\$3,200	\$3,200	
Over	But not over			
\$100,000	\$125,000	\$1,600	\$3,200	
\$125,000	\$150,000	\$800	\$3,200	
\$150,000	\$175,000	\$0	\$1,600	
\$175,000	\$200,000	\$0	\$800	
In excess of \$200,000		\$0	\$0	

**Line 8.** Maryland income tax. Use the tax rate schedules below to compute your tax on the amount on line 7.

For taxpayers filing as Single, Married Filing Separately, or as Dependent Taxpayers. This rate also is used for taxpayers filing as Fiduciaries.

## Tax Rate Schedule I

If taxable net income is:			Marylaı	nd Tax is:
At least:	but not ove	r:		
\$	0 \$1,00	0	2.00%	of taxable net income
\$1,00	0 \$2,00	\$20.00	plus 3.00%	of excess over \$1,000
\$2,00	0 \$3,00	\$50.00	plus 4.00%	of excess over \$2,000
\$3,00	0 \$100,00	\$90.00	plus 4.75%	of excess over \$3,000
\$100,00	0 \$125,00	\$4,697.50	plus 5.00%	of excess over \$100,000
\$125,00	0 \$150,00	\$5,947.50	plus 5.25%	of excess over \$125,000
\$150,00	0 \$250,00	\$7,260.00	plus 5.50%	of excess over \$150,000
\$250,00	0 -	- \$12,760.00	plus 5.75%	of excess over \$250,000

For taxpayers filing Joint Returns, Head of Household, or for Qualifying Surviving Spouse.

#### Tax Rate Schedule II

If taxable net income is:			Maryland Tax is:			
At least:	D	out not over:				
\$	0	\$1,000			2.00%	of taxable net income
\$1,00	0	\$2,000	\$20.00	plus	3.00%	of excess over \$1,000
\$2,00	0	\$3,000	\$50.00	plus	4.00%	of excess over \$2,000
\$3,00	0	\$150,000	\$90.00	plus	4.75%	of excess over \$3,000
\$150,00	0	\$175,000	\$7,072.50	plus	5.00%	of excess over \$150,000
\$175,00	0	\$225,000	\$8,322.50	plus	5.25%	of excess over \$175,000
\$225,00	0	\$300,000	\$10,947.50	plus	5.50%	of excess over \$225,000
\$300,00	0		\$15,072.50	plus	5.75%	of excess over \$300,000

**Line 11.** Local or special nonresident income tax. Maryland counties and Baltimore City levy an income tax on residents that is a percentage of taxable net income. The amount you entered on line 7 is your taxable net income. Multiply that amount by your local tax rate (see below) and enter on line 11.

Baltimore City	
Allegany County	
Baltimore County	
Calvert County	
Caroline County	
Carroll County	303
Cecil County	275
Charles County	
Dorchester County	
Frederick County Se	e below**
Garrett County02	
Harford County	
Howard County	
Kent County	320
Montgomery County	320
Prince George's County 03	
Queen Anne's County03	
St. Mary's County	
Somerset County	
Talbot County02	
Washington County	295
Wicomico County	
Worcester County02	
Nonresidents use	

**Filing a return instead of fourth payment.** Instead of making the fourth declaration payment on or before **January 15, 2025**, you may file and pay the balance of tax due on or before **January 31, 2025**.

#### **NOTE**

\* Anne Arundel Co. The local tax rates for taxable year 2024 are as follows:

For taxpayers with filing statuses of Single, Married Filing Separately, or Dependent, the local tax rates are as follows:

- (1) .0270 of Maryland taxable income of \$1 through \$50,000;
- (2) .0281 of Maryland taxable income of \$50,001 through \$400,000; and
- (3) .0320 of Maryland taxable income of over \$400,000;

For taxpayers with filing statuses of Married Filing Jointly, Head of Household, or Qualified Surviving Spouse, the local tax rates are as follows:

(1) .0270 of Maryland taxable income of \$1 through

\$75,000;

- (2) .0281 of Maryland taxable income of \$75,001 through \$480,000; and
- (3) .0320 of Maryland taxable income over \$480,000.
- \*\* Frederick Co. The local tax rates for tax year 2024 are as follows:

For taxpayers with filing statuses of single, married filing separately and dependent taxpayer, the local tax rates are as follows:

- .0225 for taxpayers who have a net taxable income between \$1 and not exceeding \$25,000;
- .0275 for taxpayers who have a net taxable income between \$25,001 and not exceeding \$50,000;
- (3) .0296 for taxpayers who have a net taxable income between \$50,001 and not exceeding \$150,000; and
- (4) .0320 for taxpayers who have a net taxable income of \$150,001 or more;

For taxpayers with filing statuses of married filing jointly, head of household, or qualified surviving spouse, the local tax rates are as follows:

- .0225 for taxpayers who have a net taxable income between \$1 and not exceeding \$25,000;
- (2) .0275 for taxpayers who have a net taxable income between \$25,001 and not exceeding \$100,000;
- .0296 for tax payers who have a net taxable income between \$100,001 and not exceeding \$250,000; and
- (4) .0320 for taxpayers who have a net taxable income of \$250,001 or more.

**Farmers and fishermen.** If your estimated gross income from farming or fishing is at least two-thirds of your total



estimated gross income for the year, special provisions may apply. Your 2024 declaration and full payment of the estimated tax are due on or before **January 15, 2025**. You do not have to file the declaration if you file your complete tax return (Form 502 or 505) and pay the full amount of tax due on or before **March 1, 2025**.

Changes in income or exemptions. Your situation may not require you

to file a declaration on **April 15, 2024**. However, a large increase in income after that date may require you to file a declaration. If at any time during the year you need to amend your original declaration, simply increase or decrease the remaining payments.

**Forms and information.** Can be found by visiting **marylandtaxes.gov**, at any of the Comptroller of Maryland branch offices, or calling 410-260-7980 from Central Maryland or 1-800-MD-TAXES from elsewhere.

**Electronic filing.** You may file and pay your 2024 estimated taxes electronically by using our iFile program. There, you will have the ability to make one single estimated payment or schedule all of your payments at one time. These scheduled payments will be deducted from your bank account on the dates that you specify. Visit **marylandtaxes.gov/online-services/individuals.php** 

## ALTERNATIVE PAYMENT METHODS

For alternative methods of payment, such as a credit card, visit **marylandtaxes.gov**.

**Payment by check or money order.** Make your check or money order payable to Comptroller of Maryland. Use blue or black ink. You must include the social security number/ITIN of the taxpayer if filing individually, if filing jointly, you must include the social security number/ITIN of the primary taxpayer on the check or money order. Failure to include this information will delay the processing of your payment. DO NOT SEND CASH.

File and pay your estimated tax online. Scan the above QR code with your mobile phone or tablet's QR Reader. Free readers are available at your favorite APP store.

## **Extension Worksheet Instructions**

#### Who must file for an extension?

If you cannot complete and file your Form 502, 505, 510C or 515 by the due date, you should complete the Tax Payment Worksheet to determine if you must file for an extension. If line 6 of the worksheet shows you owe tax, you must file Form PV and pay the full amount due by April 15, 2024, (or the 15th day of the fourth month following the close of the tax year). If the due date falls on a Saturday, Sunday or legal holiday, the return must be filed by the next business day.

**NOTE:** Filing an extension does not extend the time for paying your taxes.

Do not file for an extension if, after completing the PVW, you find that you do not owe additional tax. However, be aware that if an unpaid liability is disclosed when you file your return, you may owe penalty and interest charges in addition to the tax. See "Will penalties and interest be owed?".

## Automatic Maryland six-month extension

If you filed a federal extension and expect to owe zero tax to Maryland we grant you an automatic six-month extension of time to file your Form 502, 505, 510C, or 515. **You are not required to file for an extension in order to obtain this automatic extension.** However, you should use Form PV to pay any tax due of forms 502, 505, and 515, but you should use Form EL102B to pay any tax due or payment with extension of Form 510C in order to avoid any late-payment penalty and interest on tax not paid by April 15, 2024.

**Note:** In the case of Form 510C, the PVW must be completed to estimate the payment.

## Requesting a Maryland extension when not requesting a federal extension:

- Request your extension by telefile at 410-260-7829 from Central Maryland or 1-800-260-3664 from elsewhere; or,
- (2) Request your extension at marylandtaxes.gov.

## When should Form PV be mailed without a payment? Never.

#### When requesting an extension beyond six months:

No extension request will be granted for more than six months, except in the case of individuals who are out of the United States. Even when an individual is out of the U.S. an extension will not be granted for more than one year. An extension request for beyond six months without a payment should be filed by telefile or on our website. For more information, visit **marylandtaxes.gov**.

#### When to file:

If you owe any tax, file Form PV along with your payment

on or before April 15, 2024. If you are filing on a fiscal year basis, file by the regular due date of your return. If any due date falls on a Saturday, Sunday or legal holiday, the return and payment must be filed by the next business day.

#### How to file:

For an extension request with payment, use electronic funds withdrawal (direct debit) from savings or checking account, or to make payment(s) by credit card, visit **marylandtaxes.gov**; otherwise, make check or money order payable to: **COMPTROLLER OF MARYLAND**.

For returns filed with payments, attach check or money order to Form PV. Make check or money order payable to Comptroller of Maryland. On your check or money order, you must include the Social Security number/Individual Taxpayer Identification Number of the taxpayer if filing individually. If filing jointly, you must include the Social Security number/ITIN of the primary taxpayer, tax type, and tax year on the check/money order. Failure to include this information will delay the processing of your payment.

Mail to: Payment Processing
PO Box 8888
Annapolis, MD 21401-8888

#### Will penalties and interest be owed?

You will owe interest on tax not paid by the regular due date of your return. The interest will accrue until you pay the tax. Even if you had a good reason for not paying on time, you will still owe interest.

If tax and interest are not paid promptly, a penalty will be assessed on the tax.

When should I include a copy of Form PV if I am requesting an extension of time to file?

Only include Form PV with Form 502, 505, or 515 if you are filing an extension request along with a payment by check or money order. If you are making an extension payment electronically, you do not need to include Form PV. Do not include Form PV to request an extension if you are not making an extension payment.

#### For assistance:

- Visit marylandtaxes.gov; or
- Email TAXHELP@marylandtaxes.gov; or
- Contact our Taxpayer Services Division by calling 1-800-638-2937 or from Central Maryland 410-260-7980.

To file and pay your extension electronically, visit marylandtaxes.gov/online-services/individuals.php.

### **ESTIMATED TAX WORKSHEET**

**IMPORTANT:** Review the instructions before completing this form. If you are using this form for subsequent estimated payments and you previously have calculated the amounts you must pay for each quarter, you **do not** need to complete this worksheet. **DO NOT MAIL THIS WORKSHEET TO THE REVENUE ADMINISTRATION DIVISION.** 

1.	Total income expected in 2024 (federal adjusted gross income)	.1
2.	Net modifications (See instructions.)	. 2
3.	Maryland adjusted gross income (line 1, plus or minus line 2)	. 3
4.	Deductions: <b>a.</b> If standard deduction is used, see instructions. <b>b.</b> If deductions are itemized, enter total of federal itemized deductions less state and local income taxes	. 4
5.	Maryland net income (Subtract line 4 from line 3.)	. 5
6.	Personal exemptions (See instructions.)	. 6
7.	Taxable net income (Subtract line 6 from line 5.)	.7
8.	Maryland income tax (See instructions.)	. <b>8.</b>
9.	Personal and business income tax credits	. <b>9.</b>
LO.	Subtract line 9 from line 8 (If less than 0, enter 0.)	
l 1.	Local income tax or special nonresident income tax: Multiply line 7 by .0 (See instructions.)	
12.	Local income tax credit	
L3.	Total 2024 Maryland and local income tax (Subtract line 12 from the sum of lines 10 and 11.)	13
L4.	Maryland income tax to be withheld during the year 2024	
<b>15</b> .	Total estimated tax to be paid by declaration (Subtract line 14 from line 13.)	15
L6.	Amount to be submitted with Form PV (Divide line 15 by 4.)	l <b>6.</b>
	For payment by credit card, visit marylandtaxes.gov.	

### **EXTENSION WORKSHEET**

### Line 1 - Income tax

Enter the total amount of income tax you expect to owe. Use Form 502, 505, 510C or 515 as a worksheet.

## Line 2 - Withholding

Enter the amount of Maryland income tax withheld from your wages for the tax year.

## Line 3 - Estimated income tax payments

Enter the total amount of Maryland estimated payments you paid with Form PV or 502DEP for the tax year. Include any 2022 overpayment credited to your 2023 tax and any amount paid on your behalf with Form MW506NRS.

#### Line 4 - Estimated allowable credits

Enter allowable tax credits.

### Line 5 - Total payments and credits

Add lines 2 through 4 and enter the total on line 5.

## Line 6 - Tax due

Subtract line 5 from line 1. Enter the result on line 6. This is your tax due. If it is \$1 or more, file this form and attach your payment. If the tax due is less than \$1, stop. No payment is required.

### Line 7 - Amount to be submitted with Form PV.

7.	Amount to be submitted with Form PV	7	
6.	Tax due - Subtract line 5 from line 1	6	
5.	Total payments and credits. Add lines 2 through 4	5	_
4.	Allowable tax credits	4	
3.	Maryland estimated payments and amount credited from 2023	3	_
2.	Maryland income tax withheld	2	_
1.	Income tax you expect to owe	1	

If filing and paying electronically or by credit card, do not submit Form PV.